What is it like to ride side-saddle? Okay, sit sideways at your computer while you read this. That should do it.

While  I’m not by any means an expert on this style of riding, I’ve ridden side-saddle a time or two, dressing up in the ‘ladies’ attire and showing in one exhibition class. However, as writers of history, this is something we must know for our heroines and their stories.

Our heroine’s  form does not change riding side-saddle:head up, shoulders back…heel down. However, she will most likely ride with a riding crop or whip on the side void of her leg and grip with the horn of the side-saddle with her legs…believe me, she will grip that sucker.  It’s fun. It’s elegant.  And all else stays the same…

Now, I say that women riding side-saddle was a man’s idea…not wanting anything other than himself between a ladies’ legs. His loss tho. Or, it could have been her idea, being able to wear those  glorious, gorgeous riding attires. I don’t know, but it sure does feel cock-eyed to me.

Keep writing and riding,

J

